Lay Leadership

The secular and financial affairs of the church are managed like those of many New England towns, with an annual meeting to select the church leaders. Northminster Presbyterian Church holds its Annual Meeting each year on a Sunday in December. During this meeting, the congregation receives the budget and full financial report of the prior year, and elects elders and deacons. The continuing management of our church is provided by the Session, with a clerk and treasurer working in concert with the ministers and church staff.

What is an Elder?

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament Church provided persons with particular gifts to share in governing and ministry. Ruling elders are elected by the congregation. Elders are considered to be persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Together with the minister (the teaching elder) elders have the responsibilities for the life of the congregation. When elected they serve faithfully as members of the session for a term of three years. There are two elders on each of the six Ministries.

Our current elders:

Clerk of Session: Janis Lappeus

Class of 2019: Ron Garcia, Lora Havrda, Marisa Flores-Mascorro, Yvonne May

Class of 2020: Lynn Carroll, Brian Harding, Larry Osterle, Sara Young

Class of 2021: Lowell Cornelius, Tom Miller, Holly Perry, Miriam Ybarra-Rodriguez

Class of 2021 Youth Elder: Chloe Flores

What is a Deacon?

The Deacons, often to referred to as the Diaconate, are a true call to service. They are the “caregivers” of the congregation, serving as the “hands and feet” of Christ for the members of our congregation.  The Deacons are responsible for the nurturing of the church family and for providing programs to strengthen member relationships, and build a sense of belonging. The Deacons create opportunities for fellowship, fun, and serving.  They monitor the need for pastoral care of church members and provide support and assistance to the other church ministries.

Our current deacons:

Class of 2019: Pam Baker, Deanie Bluschke, Laurie Owen, Elsa Salazar

Class of 2020: Janina Cleveland, Susan Cloud, Christal Flint, Julie Finch

Class of 2021: Nancy Cornelius, Camille Fiorillo, Rachel Salazar

Class of 2021 Youth Deacon: Jeremy Flint


Return to the homepage here